A Proper Snow Day

What’s the best part about a snow day? Obviously getting kids dressed in weather-proof clothing.

IMG_7471.JPG

Obviously I’m kidding.

The best part about our snow day was a slow morning and then snow fun in the afternoon. After morning coffee, I made us warm oatmeal and baked peach muffins. Because food is the most important thing. Right?

The boys played for hours and watched the snow.

img_7466

Jeff headed into work, although we all wished he could have stayed home with us.

After lunch the snow wasn’t falling so hard anymore, and it was time to put on some layers!

img_7548

We built a small snow man outside. Hey! It’s Mr. Potato Eyes.

img_7540

We played for a bit.

img_7547

Then I pulled the boys for what felt like 35 miles to the nearest sledding grounds, the dog park.

img_7539img_7546

The first time I sent Julian down the hill, I basically pushed him straight into a fence. All the other parents gasped and looked at me. I just said my usual, “You’re fine. Get up!” – except in a harsh, foreign-sounding language, which is an added bonus, always. And he was fine, because they usually are.

img_7544

We went down the hill 148 times, or so I think. Julian loooooved it. Arthur loved it. But not quite as much.

img_7545

At least he still allowed me to ride down the hill with him a couple of times. Julian just looked at me as if I was mad when I asked him if we could go together.

img_7543

We had hot cocoa and graham crackers and a snowball fight.

img_7542img_7541

Then Arthur wanted to go home, and Julian wanted to continue sledding forever, so I did the only sensible thing a mama can do, which is err on the side of sledding with a side of extra loving for the kid who didn’t get his way.

The rest of the day was spent with snow day things: TV, wine, tickling, train tracks and passing out on the couch at 6pm.

P.S. Snow fun from last year and the year before!

Leave a Reply

