Adulting, City Fun, and a sick Kid

This week, on Tuesday, I finally had the opportunity to take a few hours to myself and to go on an adventure. After school drop-off, I headed into Manhattan and got myself a membership to MoMA with my lovely IDNYC card. I wandered around and checked out three floors. One of the more impressive pieces: a literature sausage.

img_4303

Then I met Jeff at his office, and we saw a baby owl.

img_4302

We had a lovely lunch across the street from Jeff’s work. A daytime date! Always special.

img_4300

Then I came back to his office for a lesson in virtual reality. I flew to the moon!

img_4301

It was seriously amazing. My mind was blown. And then I had to pick up the kids!

Wednesday night I went to the new Alamo Drafthouse movie theater in Downtown Brooklyn with some friends. Afterwards, we had drinks at a rooftop bar around the corner and marveled at the fact that we know nothing about Downtown Brooklyn at all, even though it’s a 10 minute walk from our homes. It’s a different world and could basically be any downtown in any city in the US. Bizarre.

Yesterday we had a lovely family day in Manhattan. We had brunch and then went for a stroll on the Highline. The fall colors are gorgeous right now!

img_4417

After 20 blocks of walking (no complaints from the kids!), we took the train to Grand Central.

img_4423

We had coffee and snacks and looked around.

img_4422

We stumbled upon a street festival on Madison Avenue. The boys had a lemonade.

img_4416

Next up: Rockefeller Center.

img_4427

We walked around and checked out the Lego store. The boys were in awe!

img_4428

Then we decided we were sufficiently tired and headed home. Early bedtime for all!

img_4424

And on Sunday? On Sunday we did nothing. Julian woke up mopey and with a man-headache. We convinced him to rally and cheer on our buddy Tim, who was running the NYC Marathon. Seeing all these people run run run was so inspiring!

img_4448

The boys, however, collapsed upon our arrival. Julian due to the fact that he wasn’t feeling well, and Arthur, well, he had a case of brotherly sympathy pains.

img_4449

Turns out Julian actually has a fever of 102.5. So I feel pretty great about dragging him to watch a marathon and scolding him for lying down. Who’s winning? This Mama.

The rest of the day we did nothing. We watched Planet Earth and ate popcorn. We drank smoothies and ate German chocolate and took naps. We played and colored and went on indoor treasure hunts. I read my book and Jeff played music. Also, Bloody Mary’s.

And we’re off into another week!

Leave a comment