St. Martin 2015

This week was one of my favorite holidays from my childhood, St. Martin. In Germany, the kids all get together and follow St. Martin, the saint of all children, who is riding on his horse. The children are carrying lanterns and singing songs.

Julian made a lantern in school, and Arthur and I made a lantern at home. On Wednesday evening, all the kids from Julian’s German pre-school got together on the Brooklyn Heights Promenade to carry their lanterns and sing songs.

It was adorable.

IMG_4264

I baked Weckmänner for all the kids, and we drank hot cider after the walk.

IMG_4168

I love that, through my children, I have found this big German community here in Brooklyn. I look forward to carrying lanterns eating silly dough men for years!

IMG_4265 IMG_4263

P.S. Here are some pictures from St. Martin last year.

Leave a Reply

