Exploring our (not so personal) backyard

Friday has been our day to venture out, so I was excited to explore Prospect Park today with the boys on our bike. The colors are so beautiful this time of year; I just can’t get enough.

IMG_3045

We wandered around the paths of the Ravine and explored. We saw chipmunks and squirrels and bugs. Also: a waterfall. Arthur was obsessed with the possibility of running into a fox, so he was really tense for most of our walk.

IMG_3048

We collected leaves, pinecones, gumballs, and sticks. The boys jumped and poked things with their sticks and climbed on everything.

IMG_3047

Then we rode over to a “nature playground” in the Park and stayed a while.

IMG_3043 IMG_3044

We ate almond butter and banana sandwiches in the sun and explored some more. There were little tree houses to hide in a stumps to climb on.

IMG_3042 IMG_3041

For no reason at all, we hadn’t been to this playground all summer. And now, in the fall, it’s just perfect. I love Prospect Park so much. I love that we’re a quick bike ride away from all of this; it was so wonderful to let the sun shine on my face today while I sat on a giant tree stump and my boys played all around me. It was so relaxing that I almost fell asleep.

Leave a Reply

