A good one

Let me just preface this by saying that yesterday was not a good one. Day, that is. There was lots of screaming and tantrums and a glass of wine at 4:30pm. Because I was celebrating that I had made it that far, and everyone was still alive.

IMG_5179

Today we had no plans, so I decided to try and make it a fun day. We left in the morning and rode the bike to Prospect Park and around the park. Just by riding around, listening to music and being surrounded by trees we all felt good.

First item on our list was the zoo.

IMG_5539

We checked out all the animals; it’s a rather small zoo. Perfect actually for a 4 and a 2 year old. Julian loved the sea lion, and the boys both loved feeding the animals at the petting zoo.

IMG_5541 IMG_5542

We had a snack…

IMG_5540

….and then made our way to the carousel.

IMG_5543 IMG_5544

Next up: lunch. We rode over to Lakeside, where I bought myself a sandwich and a beer, and we all ate happily.

IMG_5545

And then we played.

IMG_5546 IMG_5547IMG_5555

It was so much fun. When I am on the big bike on my own, I always pack light because there is no storage space other than the front basket. So I didn’t bring water shirts or hats or towels, but I did pack lots of sunscreen. Anyway, we just dried off over lemonade and another beer.

IMG_5556

Arthur fell asleep almost as soon as we got back on the bike, so we found a nice, shady spot for a nap. Julian didn’t actually fall asleep, but we cuddled for more than an hour, and it was lovely. I may have dozed off…

IMG_5557

I truly felt like we needed to reconnect and make up after the day we had yesterday. It was ridiculous how bad yesterday afternoon was. Today more than made up for it. Julian was so sweet and good all day.

IMG_5558

We finished the day with ice cream, naturally. On the ride home, Julian fell asleep.

It’s funny how a really crappy day is almost always followed by a really good one. I think it’s because everyone involved needs it. I got so much love today from my boys, so many hugs and kisses and smiles and laughter. It was a welcome (and needed!) reminder that I am doing something right. That not every day needs to be great in order for us to succeed. Today was as good as it gets, except of course we missed Papa!

IMG_5490

Leave a Reply

