A weekend away!

I’ve never been away from the kids – except for the few days I was in the hospital when I had Arthur, and Julian was at home. But then two weeks ago Jeff and I had our little staycation in a lovely hotel in the city, and this weekend I spontaneously went skiing with Jeff’s brother and sister, and her husband – while Jeff stayed home and fed the boys carbs morning noon and night. They had so much fun…breakfast at Junior’s, a trip to the Transit Museum, and tracks that went all around our apartment.

Meanwhile, I was doing this!

IMG_4875

…with these people:

IMG_4785

We had so much fun.¬†I had so much fun. I grew up skiing as a little kid and all through adolescence on the slopes of Austria. That said, I hadn’t actually skied in 20 years. So I was mildly nervous. But once I calmed my nerves and snapped on my skis, it all came back to me. It was just like riding a bike.

IMG_4881 IMG_4882

We drove up early Saturday morning and were on the slopes by noon. We skied for a few hours and had lunch. Hot curry ramen and beer. Then more skiing. BBQ for dinner, and up early the next day and back on the slopes by 8:30am.

IMG_4873 IMG_4874

The thing that’s so amazing about skiing is that everyone feels happy on the slopes. I didn’t encounter one mean person. Everyone was kind and in a good mood. And skiing down the hills is just amazing. The views, the wind, the cold, the speed, and totally doing your own thing while being surrounded by – in my case – family. The best.

I was back home in Brooklyn by 4:30pm that afternoon. It’s amazing how much you can pack into 1 1/2 days.

I can’t wait to ski again! One day, maybe in 3 or 4 years, I would love to take Julian and Arthur. Skiing and seeing all the little kids around us much braver and more skilled than we were, made me remember learning to ski when I was 4 or 5 years old. Feeling the speed and wind in my face and no fear at all. Kids are so fearless.

I predict Arthur would take to snowboarding, while Julian would be intrigued by the lifts and give skiing a shot – before declaring that he will meet us for some hot cocoa inside. We’ll see! I’ll report back in a few years.

One thought on “A weekend away!

  1. Glad it was such a fun weekend. Brian, Carrie and Ray were so happy you were able to come. Getting away from your kids now and then is what keeps a Mom sane!

Leave a Reply

