On tantrums & food

This morning I did something I hadn’t done in a while. I sat in a cafe with my two friends (and their kids) over coffee and croissants while Arthur ate his weight in berries, Cheerios, croissant, napkin, and stickers. We hardly noticed the kids were there; it was nice.

Afterwards Arthur made sure I did notice him. It was when he ripped his hand out of mine in the middle of the street. I tore his gloves while trying to keep him from running into traffic, while simultaneously dropping all of my things in the wet, dirty street and deserting my stroller all together (while still in the middle of the street). Luckily my friend and a stranger came to my aid to collect all of my belongings while I dragged my uncooperative child to the other side. Just 10 minutes later, Arthur decided to jump out of his stroller face first into a puddle and then angrily removed his boots and socks all within a matter of seconds. He was pissed about having to sit in the stroller again, but not half as pissed as I was at my screaming, barefoot, dirty child. Ahhh, blessed toddlerhood.

IMG_4429

After a long hiatus over the fall, then Christmas, and pretty much winter in general, I have started to work out again. I have come to realize that if I don’t do it first thing in the morning, I usually don’t motivate at all later in the day. So as painful as it is to get out of bed at 6am, it is truly the beginning of my most productive two hours of the day. By 7am I have completed my work-out and showered. Julian gets out of bed. And then over the course of the next hour, until Arthur gets up, I make breakfast, lunches, beds, sort laundry, empty the dishwasher, brush little kid teeth and hair, get Julian dressed, and other blissful morning stuff.

IMG_4068

10932586_845845818795217_1136610048_n 10950450_337647586426541_807387762_n

I try to make Jeff’s lunch, but some days I just don’t get around to it.

IMG_4067

I make the boys their smoothies. I started making these when Julian was little and wouldn’t drink any other sort of milk. Now I’m just sort of hooked. Arthur loves these, too. The boys know exactly what all goes into these, so it’s not like I’m hiding the vegetables, but it’s also not like constantly saying, “Eat more broccoli, kid.”IMG_4066

We all eat breakfast together. And then Jeff leaves for work and some days Julian goes to school, and by 8:15am I have basically accomplished more than I will for the rest of the day. So I fell pretty ok about watching the Bachelor during nap time. Or something equally entertaining/satisfying. Anyway. It’s nap time. I think there is something really mindless and enjoyable that I should be doing right now.

Leave a Reply

