Come on, winter, bring it.

So. It’s been cold. Really cold. I’d been wondering what was wrong with the NYC winter this year, but hey, here it is now. I can’t say that I hate it, and I can’t say that I love it. The cold air feels good in my lungs and too cold on my cheeks. I hate having to bundle everyone up whenever we leave the house, but I love seeing the delight on my children’s faces when they saw (and ate) this year’s first snow. Also, it’s an excellent excuse for hot chocolate with marshmallows, cozy blankets, warm cookies, and slow cooker chili.

IMG_3346 IMG_3386

In other news, Julian has an ear infection and is looking at a week of antibiotics. All of a sudden he started whimpering yesterday and was in so much pain all night long. Poor guy. This morning the pus had broken through the ear drum (gross, I know. Also: OUCH.). It’s the first ear infection in this house, but I know they are pretty common. We’ve been lucky, I guess. Anyway. Poor kid.

Arthur was pleased to find Julian so defenseless and hugged the crap out of him while also rubbing his back. Their love for each other is out of this world.

IMG_3428

On Tuesday we had nowhere to be, and so in the afternoon we went on a subway joyride, just for the hell of it. Also, because my kids love nothing more than the subway, and because this is their favorite book. “It’s cold and wet. What can be done? A trip on the subway, just for fun.” We took the Q over the Manhattan Bridge and the R back home. Yee-haaa.

IMG_3373 IMG_3374 IMG_3372

Today after yet another doctor’s visit, we went out for pancakes. Because we all needed pancakes. And coffee.

IMG_3416

Arthur started humming and then he was out cold. At 11am. It’s that kind of day.

IMG_3427

And last but not least, I will leave you with this creepy gem. It’s a picture Julian made for our lovely neighbor and friend Estela, but it turned out a bit dark, so we tried to lighten the mood with some blood-colored hearts. We love you, Estela!

FullSizeRender

Leave a Reply

