Happy Times

This has been hands down the best winter break. Why? I don’t know. We haven’t done anything. That’s why, probably.

IMG_2863

For starters, everyone is healthy. I don’t remember the last time someone interrupted my sleep….except wait a minute, I can. Julian had a nightmare two nights ago crying in his sleep that he was scared because he was all alone. I reminded him that he was never alone, because look right there next to you in that shoebox-sized room is your sleeping brother. Problem solved.

Everyone has been getting along great. The new toys are a hit, the weather’s been great, and Jeff and I have been taking a nap every day while the boys nap. Yes, my 3 1/2 year old still takes a 2 hour nap every day. And goes to sleep at 8pm. We are lucky. And also, we don’t mess around with sleep.

IMG_2847

We haven’t gotten bored of each other yet. My dad gave us the classic German board game for Christmas. It’s a game I remember so vividly playing when I was young. I almost cried when Julian and I played it for the first time.

IMG_2984

Today Jeff got to lay around and do nothing play his guitar while I took the boys to the Brooklyn Children’s Museum. It was so much fun. We hadn’t been in a while, and for the first time Julian took a real interest in the various activities, playing with sand and water and whatnot for extended periods of time.

IMG_2970 IMG_2971

While his brother shoveled sand out of the pit and onto the floor (and also into his pants as I would find out later). Also, this:

IMG_2968 IMG_2969At one point, at the overcrowded pretend pizza shop, Julian almost got into a physical fight with an older boy. The boy was trying to take something away that Arthur was playing with and had coveted for a long time, and the two boys immediately got into each other’s faces. It was kind of crazy because there he was, my sensitive, gentle, non-confrontational child sticking up for his brother.

Here is a picture of happier times.Two boys, waiting for their felt pizza to be done.

IMG_2967In other news, I won a photo contest and got to pick any business on our neighborhood street for a $400 gift certificate. Naturally, I picked the liquor store. We’re excited to pick up our $399 bottle of champagne to ring in the New Year tomorrow. (Kidding. Or am I.)

Our neighbor friend handed over the certificate, and the boys got some pretty flowers and stood there looking adorable.

IMG_2980 IMG_2981

Leave a Reply

