Brothers

Before I had children, I always dreamed about having a little boy one day. A blond little boy. That was my dream. I know many women dream about having little girls, but I always wanted a son. And then I had one, and my dream had come true. I had this perfect, chubby, blond little creature that smelled so good and was so delicious. And then we wanted another one. And we both were hoping for another boy.

When I was pregnant with Arthur, every.single.person said something to the effect of “Oh I really hope this one’s a girl.” One person even expressed disappointment when I said he was a boy and stated, “This one should have been a girl.” So then Arthur came along, and it’s tough to imagine that he should have been anything other than Arthur.

So all of a sudden I had two perfect little boys to chase after. And when I didn’t think it could get any better, something else happened: my boys were brothers.

9edf2ed4b99a11e2bbd822000a9f15da_7

At first that didn’t mean much more than mild curiosity about “Baby Attttttuuuu.” But as Arthur became more mobile, they started interacting more. And now that he is a toddler with opinions and a sense of humor, I can see the most amazing thing of all happening: They are becoming friends.

44d9c680fa2f11e292c922000a1fb771_7 1738617_386352981502061_1278823805_n

I will never forget the first time that notion occurred to Julian. Arthur was tiny (well, relatively speaking) and could just barely sit for a little while. Julian was playing with a school bus and handed another one to Arthur. And for a second it seemed as if they were playing together. Julian said, “Arthur is my best friend.” I wiped a tear from my eye.

512bb2ee249211e3b74c22000a9f1427_7

And now at 14 months and 3 years old, they truly are best friends. They hold hands, tickle each other, laugh together, and most importantly: they chase each other. Julian sings, Arthur claps. They dance together until they get dizzy. They seem to want to be around each other all the time. Which of course means they fight. They need the same toy, Julian pushes Arthur, Arthur yanks on Julian’s shirt. And so on. But it all comes together nicely in this package called brotherhood.

photo 3 photo 2 10483591_1446620175589896_1097374820_n

It’s all I ever dreamed of for our little family.

Leave a Reply

